The Brain Attack Coalition
Home About Us Contact Us Index Disclaimer


Coalition Initiatives
Stroke Scales
Patient Resources

The Brain Attack Coalition is a group of professional, voluntary and governmental entities dedicated to reducing the occurrence, disabilities and death associated with stroke. The goal of the Coalition is to strengthen and promote the relationships among its member organizations in order to help people who have had a stroke or are at risk for a stroke.

The Brain Attack Coalition is chaired by Dr. Michael D. Walker, former Director of Stroke, Trauma and Neurodegenerative Disorders at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

The Brain Attack Coalition website is maintained by the NINDS staff. The structure and ongoing content management of the site is directed and evaluated by the Coalition website Subcommittee.

The following organizations are members of the Coalition:

American Academy of Neurology blue dot bullet American Association of Neurological Surgeons
American Association of Neuroscience Nurses blue dot bullet American College of Emergency Physicians
American Society of Neuroradiology blue dot bullet American Stroke Association, a Division of American Heart Association
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention blue dot bullet Congress of Neurological Surgeons
National Association of Chronic Disease Directors blue dot bullet National Association of EMS Physicians
National Association of State EMS Officials
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke blue dot bullet National Stroke Association
Neurocritical Care Society blue dot bullet Society of NeuroInterventional Surgery
Stroke Belt Consortium blue dot bullet Veterans Administration